Why Christianity and Liberalism Can’t Coexist

By: Jericho Cook

Before I divulge into the specifics of this post, I want to clarify that this is directed specifically for those that claim to bear the name of Christ. There are plenty of reasons as to why I feel that conservatism is superior to liberalism outside of the realm of religious reasoning, but this text is not going to address those reasons.

Of course, there are many key issues that separate conservatism and liberalism. The purpose of this post is not to argue whether or not rights should be given to or taken away from certain demographics; I just want to highlight what the liberal views of certain issues are and provide scripture (from the New International Version) as to why anyone who claims to be a Christian shouldn’t adhere to those ideologies.

Let’s begin, shall we?

Abortion

It is inarguable that the liberal stance on abortion is being pro-choice, but what does the bible say in regard to abortion?

Jeremiah 1:5 “‘Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart; I appointed you as a prophet to the nations.'”

Job 31:15 Did not he who made me in the womb make them? Did not the same one form us both within our mothers?”

Psalm 22:10 From birth I was cast on you; from my mother’s womb you have been my God.”

Psalm 139:13-16 “For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place, when I was woven together in the depths of the earth. Your eyes saw my unformed body; all the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.”

These four verses illustrate the fact that human life begins inside of the womb and that each of us is set apart, appointed, and have had our days ordained by God before taking our first breath in this world.

For those reasons it is a Christian’s duty to protect the lives of the unborn, and the liberal ideology of being pro-choice goes completely against protecting unborn life.

Marriage

Liberalism will tell us that any consenting couple deserves the right to be married, but how we define marriage will give us two completely different views of this idea.

If we are referring to marriage that is regulated by local, state, and federal governance, then perhaps consenting adults do deserve the right to marry (outside of extraneous circumstances such as incest, for example).

However, a scripturally-based definition of marriage can be found in many, many areas of the Bible.

Ephesians 5:25-31 Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her to make her holy, cleansing her by the washing with water through the word, and to present her to himself as a radiant church, without stain or wrinkle or any other blemish, but holy and blameless. In this same way, husbands ought to love their wives as their own bodies. He who loves his wife loves himself. After all, no one ever hated their own body, but they feed and care for their body, just as Christ does the church—for we are members of his body.For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and the two will become one flesh.‘”

Genesis 2:21-24 So the Lord God caused the man to fall into a deep sleep; and while he was sleeping, he took one of the man’s ribs and then closed up the place with flesh. Then the Lord God made a woman from the rib he had taken out of the man, and he brought her to the man. The man said,This is now bone of my bones and flesh of my flesh; she shall be called ‘woman,’ for she was taken out of man.That is why a man leaves his father and mother and is united to his wife, and they become one flesh.

Matthew 19:4-6 “‘Haven’t you read, he replied, ‘that at the beginning the Creator ‘made them male and female,’and said, ‘‘For this reason a man will leave his father and mother and be united to his wife, and the two will become one flesh’? So they are no longer two, but one flesh. Therefore what God has joined together, let no one separate.‘”

Again, the purpose of this is not to argue what rights an individual deserves to have. I just want to look to scripture, in particular, to determine what Christians should view as right and just based on the word of our Father.

So in that vein, I feel as though these three verses (from Paul, God, and Jesus) clearly define marriage as being between a man and a woman.

Polygender Theory 

A hot-button topic currently under debate in our nation, and especially in my state of North Carolina, is the theory that there are more genders than just male or female.

This theory purports that gender is a mere social construct and is separate from sex, because sex defines your biological status and gender is defined in your mind (or by “what you feel”).

As an individual pursuing a degree in Biology, I have several issues with this theory and argument. But that is another post for another day.

I believe all of the verses that I listed under the ‘Abortion’ subtopic can cover most of the questions regarding the Bible’s stance on multiple genders; but, there is one verse in particular that makes it crystal clear:

Genesis 1:27 — “So God created mankind in His own image, in the image of God He created them; male and female He created them.”

As we can see, the Bible says God created us male and female. Two genders to correspond with two sexes.

From a brief look at these few topics I believe that we can establish that, for the most part, liberal ideologies go completely against Christian ideologies. For this reason, which only uses God’s word as a comparative tool between them, Christianity cannot live in coexistence with liberalism.

Leave a Reply

